Aidan January 2019

 A truly magical spot with the loveliest of hosts. A true home from home. Highly recommend to anyone who is looking for peace and tranquility in a beautiful cabin in the woods. Thank you both so much for hosting us :)) We will recommend you to everyone and can't wait to come and stay again. Loads of love Sam and Tâm

Carey December 2018

 This is an idyllic place to get away and be with nature, whilst being in the comfort and luxury of the outstanding cabin, so cleverly and lovingly built and designed. Lovely walks just out of the door and such thoughtful touches to make your stay a delight. Can't recommend it highly enough.

 Sam November 2018

 Fantastic log cabin nestled into the hillside with incredible views over Somerset - would definitely recommend. Lots of thoughtful details from the quality of the construction of the cabin, right through to the home made jams and sourdough for breakfast. Perfect

Abi October 2018

 Jake’s Cabin was utter perfection. The views and walks were breathtaking. From the bamboo bedsheets to the lavender bubble bath, everything was so luxurious and so well thought out. We absolutely loved how cosy it was, with the wood burner keeping us warm on chilly October nights. Neil and Susan were the perfect hosts, always happy to help and leaving wonderful homemade produce in the cabin. We would definitely come back again!

What can we say Susan and Neil? We had the best time and the most relaxing time away in your beautiful cabin! You were beyond generous with all of the thoughtful touches, and we always felt you were close by to help. Most of all, you were brilliant hosts and it was so brilliant to watch our dogs play together! Thank you 10000x

Sara October 2018

 Jake’s Cabin is the perfect place for peace and tranquility. Great location with amazing views and walks all around. The cabin is really well decorated with lots of thoughtful touches. We took along Smithy our rescue dog who can be anxious at times, he loved it and was totally relaxed by the surroundings. Susan and Neil were great hosts and we are looking forward to returning.

 Suna October 2018

 Our stay at Jakes Happy House on the Hill was indeed just this. All the thoughtful touches have made it the best air bnb stay we have had so far! We will be going back to stay here just because we know exactly what we will get now and didnt want to leave. The surrounding area is gorgeous to explore, you can design your own retreat here and enjoy jakes home as a home from home to either hole up in or return to after adventures all around. Susan and Neil are warm and hospitable and respond to all you need whether it be space or more interaction by way of top tips to make your stay just as you need. I really enjoyed reading the guest book ( sadly I was so relaxed I didnt have energy to contribute this time). Even so it was just a heartwarming read as all who have stayed there documented the same ...you could feel the positive and happy energy in the space. Thanks so much both and look forward to seeing you next time we can create space for a lovely break. x S and G

 Abi 2018

 We had a wonderful stay in "Jake's Cabin" - it is in a lovely spot and full of thoughtful touches. We will definitely be returning for another relaxing weekend! :)

Tanushri September 2018

 This is the best stay we have had in the uk so far. The cabin is weather proof , no matter what is going on storm snow or rain , you will have a great time here. Susan and neil have made this cabin so thoughtfully and with such kind touches. We loved the organic produce, the comfy bed, the wood earthy fragrance in the cabin, the relaxing soaks in the bath. We made lovely walks around bruton and enjoyed our lunch at “at the chapel” bakery. this place Is heavenly for couples! We would be so happy to visit again :) thanks to Neil and susan

Jon August 2018

 A lovely quiet relaxing rustic retreat

 Kylie August 2018

 Beautiful remote location. Lovely cabin. Beautiful touches to make the escape a little luxury

 Anna August 2018

 Very special spot; great for a weekend get away to just chill out or as a base to explore the local area.

 Liam August 2018

 Stay here and you will not be disappointed! Everything about this place is magical, from the cabin itself, the location, the birdsong and all the nice little touches which make this cabin something special. The hosts were lovely and welcoming and its nice to have local produce such as bread and milk and also their homemade blackcurrant jam and marmalade, and eggs which was lovely. The bed was so comfy and it was lovely having a bath with spectacular views, we really didn't want to leave the cabin to go anywhere! Thank you Susan and Neil for a lovely stay!

Jackie August 2018

 A beautiful cabin in lovely, peaceful and rural surroundings. Very welcoming hosts and excellent facilities.

 Joshua August 2018

 Jake’s cabin is a fantastic hidden gem! Very secluded with beautiful view on the top of a very peaceful hill. I would highly recommend everyone looking for some peace and tranquillity to get away to this cabin.

 Harry August 2018

 The cabin is a wonderful place to relax and rewind. Waking up with the views from the top of the hill was a joy every morning. The wood burner makes the cabin toasty and warm and a dream to come back to after a trip to the pub or walk across the hills. Would definitely recommend and look forward to visiting again.

Lou August 2018

 I highly recommend staying here for; relaxation, countryside, vast range of walking options and a chance to unwind.

If it's peace, tranquillity and a chance to get away from it all, then this is the place. Jake's Cabin has everything you need to help you unwind and relax. We spent a few days in August doing just that and feel so refreshed as a result. We are choosing very carefully who we tell because it is just too good and we would love a chance to enjoy it again in the winter. Thank you to Neil and Susan for the warmth of their hospitality and open friendliness. This has truly been a special place for us and is now another happy place in which we have built happy memories. Thank you!

 Cath August 2018

 Thank you so much for the most amazingly relaxing stay at Jake's Cabin. It was everything we hoped for and beyond in terms of giving us a much-needed haven from our busy lives in which to truly unwind, and chill as we celebrated our 25th anniversary. We loved the thoughtful touches and wonderful easiness of the place. We we were very reluctant to leave and wished we'd been able to stay for another night.. but that at least gives us the reason to come back again! Thank you both for the warmth of your welcome and for creating such a haven! 

Amanda July 2018

 A little gem, this place was so much better than the listing promised (which already had us excited!). Set in a beautifully tranquil spot and surrounded by nature, the cabin is completely private and perfect for a relaxing stay. You have everything you need for a trip in the 'wilderness' - we likened our stay to camping with out the tent! The owners left us a selection of delicious local food which we enjoyed by the fire pit on the garden each morning, the bed was super comfy and the area is so peaceful we slept amazingly. We loved the hand drawn map supplied of local hikes and had a great afternoon exploring the area with it. We loved our stay here and will certainly be returning in the future.

Sean July 2018

An absolutely lovely property - our second time staying with Susan and Neil and we had as good a time as the first. Will definitely be back.

Sara July 2018

There really are no words for how incredible Jakes Cabin is. It is in the most beautiful and tranquil setting with just a really great vibe. We both felt the stress of daily life drain away within minutes of arriving. The cabin itself is fab. Really comfortable sofa and bed with beautiful soft sheets and cozy duvet. The bathroom is great with a stunning roll top bath for semi alfresco bathing (you can open the door to the outside) and a powerful shower. Milk, bread, butter, preserves, apple juice and muesli were provided along with gorgeous fresh eggs from Susan and Neil’s chickens. The little cake was a lovely touch too. We didn’t use it much, but the WiFi was very good. The outdoor area is spacious with a fire pit and a lovely covered verandah. It was so relaxing to sit out and listen to the rain on the roof and the water running down the amazing homemade water feature. There is so much to do in the local area and we ate amazing food everywhere we went. At The Chapel in the village does excellent coffee, bread, cakes and the best takeaway pizza we’ve ever tasted. You can also eat in and we had a lovely lunch there. The Manor House Inn a few miles away does incredible food in a relaxed and informal setting of a local pub. The 3 Horseshoes was another great pub with good food. Susan and Neil are great hosts. Every little detail was considered from Susan’s beautiful homegrown flowers on the table to the lavender eye pillows left on the bed. We had a wonderful few days and will always remember this very special place!

Tim  July 2018

A super space with views to die for, so quiet and relaxing place to be

Michele  June 2018

What a beautiful, relaxing little haven to get away from it all. Everything from the welcome, the location, all the special little touches, the amazing bath with views, the fire pit, sunsets from the flower garden on the roof and scenery made us forget about the world and reconnect with ourselves and nature. The hosts are lovely, on hand with plenty of advice on the area but totally respectful of your privacy. Would highly recommend, already thinking when we can next return.

Ruth June 2018

A beautiful log cabin on a hill overlooking a beautiful valley. We loved the little touches (cake, milk and bread on arrival) and equally the solitude and birdsong. There's a beautiful 4.5 mile round trip walk through Bruton and our evenings were spent next to the camp fire reading. A perfect mini break. At this time of year take an eye mask if you're sensitive to light and want to sleep past 5am.

Adam  May 2018

Although we didn't get to meet you due to you being away it didn't take away from our lovely break at happy on the hill. Despite the weather being mixed it didn't matter as we were in paradise! We had family staying nearby in bruton and their accommodation wasn't a patch on ours. A brilliantly crafted space with the private veranda providing an amazing space for us to sit out when the little one was asleep! We absolutely loved the small touches, for example the eco friendly feel with the amazing bath products (we've ordered some for ourselves)! The bamboo bed linen was like sleeping in a cloud! I will definitely be getting some for our bed (when I can afford it). Overall we would recommend happy on the hill to anyone! We loved it and we will definitely be back! 

Charlotte May 2018

What a beautiful place! From the minute we got here we were made to feel welcome and immediately relaxed. The lemon drizzle cake was the best we've ever eaten and Bam loved her doggy treats too! We loved every minute of being here and can't wait to come back again. HIGHLIGHTS + Bruton is lovely + The views from the bath + At The Chapel, is delicious and definitely worth a visit + The bamboo linen! + Cooking outside + Amazing dog walks in every direction + Watching the sunset from the roof + The cozy log burner

Grant May 2018

I booked this beautiful cabin for a surprise birthday trip away for my girlfriend and our little dashchund. On arrival, Susan and Neil had thoughtfully set up a beautiful ‘happy birthday’ bunting. The cabin was immaculate - it’s even more beautiful in real life. The bathtub and the log burner were what drew me to this property - and they didn’t disappoint. We lit the fire and tucked up for the night, whilst the wind blew outside. So snug. They’d left us some welcome items (fresh organic produce from the local area) and tips on nearby walks/pubs/points of interest. They were so welcoming and friendly. The cabin is situated on the side of the hill and the views are out of this world. Neil and Susan’s house was situated nearby but far enough away to have our own privacy. We fell in love with this cabin and didn’t want to leave at the end of our trip. It was a perfect escape from the city. We will most certainly be coming back again. And now have the ambition to build a cabin of our own one day. I couldn’t recommend this place any more. Just, perfect.

Julie April 2018

Susan left a generous welcome package - everything that we needed - fire set, tea, coffee, bread, homemade jams, milk, eggs, apple juice - and everything was sparkling. Happy on the hill is a beautiful location, perfect for country walks and a stones throw from Bruton. We had a lovely 2 day break. Thank you

Alastair  April 2018

Lovely gem in the beautiful countryside. Perfect for relaxing long weekends and great location to access most of the key places in Somerset in <30 mins.

Alex April 2018

We had an incredible time at Happy on the Hill — everything was just perfect, from the magic views you can spy from the rooftop to the delicious local treats provided on arrival. It's a quick and beautiful walk to Bruton, and the surrounding countryside is breathtaking to explore. The cabin is incredibly comfortable and well-equipped for self-catering too; we loved the ritual of lighting a fire each night before cosying up. Susan gave us a warm welcome and was very communicative throughout. Can't wait to be back!

Abbie April 2018

The most beautiful place. Was perfect for a quiet “getaway” for a friend and I. Communication was perfect and the photos do not do the cabin or surroundings justice. Thoughtful touches were an added bonus with the local produce for breakfast and wild flowers. Loved it.

Jordan March 2018

A beautiful cabin, amazing views and fantastic hosts. It was our first trip away with our baby boy and it was so nice that we stayed an extra day. Susan and her husband were so helpful and accommodating, they recommended a local restaurant which definitely didn’t disappoint! With the log burner on and the views over the hills, you couldn’t help but feel relaxed. Thank you Susan, we will be recommending you to all our friends and family.

Ann-Marie March 2018

This is a magical haven for those who like to be immersed in nature, very special.

Emma March 2018

We had such an amazing and relaxing stay here, from the picturesque scenery and cosy log fire to lovely baths overlooking the wonderful view. We can’t wait to come back again as it’s surrounded by great towns to explore and nice walks. Great escape from London!

Leanne February 2018

Absolutely stunning. Great hosts. Great location. Felt totally chilled out.

John February 2018

We loved our weekend at Jakes cabin and as it says - we were very happy on the hill. It was a cold wintery weekend but Susan had already lit the fire so when we arrived it was toasty and it remained so all weekend. Susan gave us a warm welcome and left little touches around the cabin which reflects her warm personality. This cabin is wonderful in the winter but I imagine it would be the same in summer too, as it has a lovely veranda that would be perfect to watch the sun go down. The bread and breakfast things that greet you are simply delicious. The bread is from 'At the chapel' which is a must if you like all things foodie. Talking of food the restaurant 'Matts kitchen' is quirky and brilliant. A fabulous dinner and you can take your own wine... The information Susan and Neil have put together is a valuable resource and shows the level of care that they have put into making your time here a happy one.... we were very 'happy on the hill' and from the other reviews we are not alone in this. Memories have been made here and it's a time we won't forget...

Jessica January 2018

We visited Happy on the Hill for two nights with our 10month old in mid January and had the most wonderful time. The cabin was heavenly - cosy log burner, roll top bath, hot water bottle, amazing views... Susan was warm, helpful and the love the family have for the property just radiates. The weather was stormy but it just made the whole experience more atmospheric. Tons of lovely things to do and see in the surrounding areas too. We will be back as soon as possible!

Sarah January 2018

Absolutely beautiful and Outstanding hospitality :)

Alexander January 2018

You have to stay here!! The cabin is a beautiful, stylish and extremely comfortable haven in a heavenly setting. Susan and Neil's hospitality is unbelievable and it only adds to the spectacular experience we had during our stay. The daytime consists of amazing views from the top of the hill overlooking a distant small town and many green fields, the night, a quiet, warm and immersion in the countryside. The fireplace is simple to maintain, and the amenities provided are more than enough. So much effort has been put into making the cabin an amazing place to stay. Could not recommend more.

Stuart January 2018

Beautiful cabin in a top location. Would 100% return.

Kate  January 2018

We had an amazing stay over New Year at Jake’s Cabin. The cabin is beautiful and the setting even more so. Great touches in the form of local produce and doggy treats! Some lovely walks for anyone with (or without) a dog right on the doorstep. A place to get away from it all and really feel relaxed and close to nature. We will definitely be back soon!

Kirstin December 2017

We had the most fantastic time at Jake's cabin. Susan and Neil have been ever so lovely and welcoming who seem to genuinely care about people and their surroundings. The cabin was a dream to stay in, the minute you walk in your body starts to unwind and relax. There is utter stillness (except the lovely sounds from wildlife esp. the pheasants at night). The views from the sofa are breathtaking (even my dogs couldn't get enough of it). It was bitterly cold wiht icy winds when we stayed but there is no reason to worry, the lovely wood burner kept us beautifully warm, even at night. Would have loved to take it home . . . but Neil said no :). There is a lovely walk right from the cabin up the hill with more breathtaking far-reaching views. Clearly a lot of love, attention and care has gone into building and decorating the cabin. Everthing is made of natural materials, so pleased to see organic products, and such a lovely touch to be welcomed by 'The Chapel' bread & cake and other local produce. I could write a whole novel on our 3-day stay at Jake's cabin and promise that we'll be back, hopefully in summer when it's a bit warmer. Kirstin + Toby + Ben.

David November 2017

Great location and amazing space offered by lovely hosts. Will return one Day that’s for sure! Thank you Susan and Neil

Anthony October 2017

Jake's cabin was an amazing place to stay and we loved our time in the cabin this weekend, a real shame it was only for the weekend. Located in a beautiful setting, watching the stars twinkle in bed and watching the sunrise from the sofa was truly magical. We were lucky with th…Read more

Response from Susan:

Thanks so much! It was lovely to have you come and stay and I especially loved seeing the three of you walking up the lane with your little one going backwards/ sideways and occasionally forwards! Reminded me of walks with my sons (4 of them!) when they were little. You are always welcome to Happy on the Hill!